Skip to content

House Guests

January 11, 2011

Until that day when my children have children, my children will continue to be my guides. I watch from a distance and check in to see that all is well. We are not house guests.

One day, I will be welcomed in their homes as a grandmother to help guide their new roles as parents. I will be a good mother-in-law. I will be a good grandmother because in the space of not being a house guest, I have learned how to be a house guest. In the space of aloneness, I have found atonement. And, like all good house guests, I come and I go, welcoming all adventures, big and small with peaceful abandonment of all anxiety.

Grandchildren will someday be my house guests.

1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

